Image Upload

File size must be less than 2Mb

File types (jpg, png, gif)

Nominations are in

  • Nominations are in

Seventeen to contest inaugural Edward River Council election

Voters in the newly-formed Edward River Council will have some tough decisions to make on September 9.

Seventeen candidates have put their hand up for the council's inaugural election.

Among the mix of candidates are a swag of former Deniliquin and Conargo shire councillors.

The only councillor from the 2012 Deniliquin elections not to nominate is former mayor Lindsay Renwick.

Article continues below

There is also a handful of former Conargo Shire councillors who are keen to fill one of the nine seats on the new council.

Edward River Council's chief executive Adam McSwain said he was thrilled to see so many people nominate for council, including the wealth of experienced councillors who were keen to return.

The candidates are: Peter Connell, Margaret Bull, Mac Wallace, Andrew Howley, Jeff Shand, Nick Metcalfe, Peta Betts, Ashley Hall, Pat Fogarty,Peter McCrabb, Susan Taylor, Airlie Circuitt, Peter Robinson,Norm McAllister, Robert Sobolewski, James Sides and Norm Brennan.

Voting is on September 9 and is compulsory.