Image Upload

File size must be less than 2Mb

File types (jpg, png, gif)

Murray River Council

  • Murray River Council

Last minute candidates fill all Murray River Council chairs

After looking like there would be more seats than willing candidates, last minute nominations have ensured Murray RIver Council voters will head to the polls on September 9.

Five of the last ever crop of nine Murray Shire councillors have thrown their hat back into the ring, along with a pair of Moama businessmen and two first time female canidates.

On the western end of the new council, five candidates have thier eyes on the three available seats.

The election is on September 9 and voting is compulsory.

Article continues below

Moama Ward candidates: Chris Bilkey, Nicole Cohen, Gen Campbell and Geoff Mackenzie.

Greater Murray Ward: Tom Weyrch, John Pocklington, Geoff Wise, Tony Aquino and Nicole Stenhouse.

Wakool Ward: Ann Crowe, Alan Mathers, Katherine O'Brien, Neil Gorey and Christine Dartnell.