Image Upload

File size must be less than 500kb

File types (jpg, png, gif)


New Mayor Campaspe

New Mayor Campaspe

Campaspe Shire Elects Our New Mayor & New Deputy Mayor

Campaspe Shire Council has a new Mayor, Cr Christine Weller, who was last night officially elected, along with Cr Leanne Pentreath as the new Deputy Mayor.

Article continues below

In total, nine Councillors were sworn in, Cr Robert Amos, Cr Tony Marwood, Cr Christine Weller representing Echuca Ward, Cr Colleen Gates, Cr Daniel Mackrell, Cr John Zobec representing Kyabram Deakin Ward, Cr Paul Jarman representing Rochester Ward, Cr Adrian Weston representing Waranga Ward, and Cr Leanne Pentreath representing Western Ward.

After officially taking the chair of the meeting, Mayor Weller thanked her fellow Councillors for placing their trust in her to lead them.

“I am honoured and humbled to be elected as the new Mayor,” Cr Weller said.

“We have a focus to build a vibrant, inclusive and connected shire. With some new Councillors coming onto the Council, we have a vast range of experience in the team, including many years of Council experience through to strong business skills and life experience.”

“The first focus will be to develop the Council Plan, to set the strategic direction for the future, highlighting our key priorities for the next four years. Consultative engagement with our community is a high priority in developing this plan.”

The term of Mayor and Deputy Mayor was set for a one year period.

The newly installed Council will set meeting dates for the 2021 year at their first meeting, scheduled for Tuesday, 8 December.

The Latest